I Once Sat With Sadness Himself (Rewrite) 


I have sat with sadness in tears,
I have shared my sorrows in his presence.

I do not share my woes
with just anyone,
for I have had my moments
with sadness himself.

I ate at his table,
shared a toast with his friends.

I opened my heart to his arms;
fought by his side for my own happiness. I fought so long,
I lost all track of time;
I could not remember my happy times, for they ran away so long ago,
seeking someone who has no woe.

Happieness has no time
to seek those who lose
their heart to sadness.
Happiness dosen’t wait
for those who toss away everything they hold so near to themselves.

Happieness gives no time to those who push it to the side, to forget that it’s even there.

I have given wasted time to sadness,
I have allowed him to take
everything I worked for,
but only once and never again.

© By Amanda D Shelton

Please Leave A Comment:

