The Candle I Once Was


I once burned like a candle,
I slowly burnt down to
the bottom of my wick.
All went dim as the flame turned
to smoke.

My ashes lingerd as my ghost
moved like the flame it once was.

This candle lost her light,
only to find a burnt match
in its grip,
waiting to light what already
molted and frayed,
my dicay slowly ran down the table,
leaving burnt marks alone the way.

This candle burnt down a life,
only to watch Jack burn his trousers
upon the flame.

Her mind lost hope
but hope always found her
in the dark,
lighting the candle with lost dreams
and forgotten wishes.

I once burned like a candle,
My hope lingered like smoke.

I never thought I would get burned by the flame that once lit my way.


© By Amanda D Shelton


Please Leave A Comment:

